3 Tips For Dining Gluten-Free At A Mexican Restaurant

Posted on: 11 October 2015

Eating out can really be a pain when you have celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity. You may be tempted to try to avoid it altogether, but you shouldn't have to give up an enjoyable dining experience because your food options are limited. Even at a restaurant without a dedicated gluten-free menu, there are still tasty choices that you can enjoy. Take a look at some tips for ordering safe, delicious dishes that you can enjoy at your favorite Mexican restaurant.

Call for Corn

Flour tortillas may be off limits, but corn tortillas are usually made without wheat flour and should be safe. If the restaurant makes their tortillas themselves, ask to make sure that they're not fried in a fryer that is used to fry gluten-containing items.

If the tortillas are pre-packaged, you may be able to ask to see the packaging to confirm that they are gluten-free. Some varieties of corn tortillas are dusted with wheat flour, so you'll want to avoid those. Eat gluten-free chips and salsa, or ask for corn tortillas in place of flour when you order fajitas.

Bowl the Burritos

You may think that burritos are an obvious no-no, because of the soft flour tortilla. However, you can always ask to have the contents of a burrito served in a bowl. As long as the meat isn't made with soy or other marinades that contain wheat, you should be good to go.

As long as the meat is wheat-free, other common burrito ingredients like beans, rice, cheese, sour cream, salsa, tomatoes, peppers, and avocado are safe.

Go Vegetarian

If you're unlucky enough to land in a restaurant that uses wheat in both the tortillas and the meat, going vegetarian for the night might be an option. Mexican staples like corn, beans, rice, and vegetables are safe for your gluten-free diet. Most restaurants will be happy to fix you a vegetarian plate with these staples, even if it isn't on the menu. Top it off with cheese, salsa, and sour cream and you're good to go.

Sick of rice? Many Tucson AZ Mexican restaurants that stick with traditional recipes offer amaranth or quinoa-based vegetarian dishes. These grains are gluten-free, healthy, and will give you a new and different flavor and texture to enjoy if you're feeling adventurous. They can be added to salads, too, if you're looking to bulk up a gluten-free taco salad.

You don't have to give up Mexican cuisine just because your diet has changed. If you're aware and careful, you can still enjoy a great Mexican dish at your favorite restaurant.